Mammoth Ulthana

Concert of the Polish band Mammoth Ulthana will be held on April 23 at 20.00 (Polish time) in Herðubíó in the Icelandic city of Seyðisfjörður.

Mammoth Ulthana [Jacek Doroszenko, Rafał Kołacki] is a musical duo based on a combination of traditional acoustic instruments, field recordings and electronics. Electronics is mixed here with the sound of gongs, bells, horns and a set of ethnic instruments. The idea of ​​the band's musical form is based on the interpenetration of the sound of traditional acoustic instruments with sound structures generated by computer software. The result of the combination is an intense musical space set on a solid compositional foundation, and at the same time rich in parts of unforeseen sound events. This mixture of sources creates a kind of unique and intense musical space filled with many unforeseen sound events. The concept of the team refers to the vision of a tribe called Mammoth Ulthana that traveled north in a previous era when life was a struggle to survive. It was a community of shamans and paladins of Nature, where everyone gained knowledge and power to maintain inner balance by entering the spiritual world of sound. By releasing traumatic experiences that affect the spirit, musicians restore balance and affect the spiritual state of the recipient. They invoke the supernatural to find solutions to problems plaguing the community. 

Jacek Doroszenko / electronics, video

Audio-visual artist. Graduated from the Cracow Academy of Fine Arts. Recipient of Artist in Residence programs: Atelierhaus Salzamt in Austria, The Island Resignified in Greece, Kunstnarhuset Messen in Norway, Hangar in Spain etc. He has presented his works and performed in numerous venues. More information: 

Rafał Kołacki / electronics

Musician (Mammoth Ulthana, Hati, Innercity Ensemble, T’ien Lai) and sound curator (CoCArt Music Festival in Torun). He has hundreds of concerts in Europe and the U.S. and created dozens of music publishing. He collaborated with such renowned artists as Z’EV, John Zorn, Steve Buchanan, Robert Curgenven, Slawomir Ciesielski, and Raymond Salvatore Harmon.